## **History of Named Awards**

(Revised 9/9/24)

In early 1994, the AAO Foundation received a gift from the estate of the late Dr. Earl Shepard, thanks to the efforts of Dr. William Schwartz, an AAO member, and his brother, Mr. Robert Schwartz, members of the family and co-executors of Dr. Shepard's estate. The Foundation Board honored the family's request that there be established in perpetuity, the *Willie and Earl Shepard Memorial Fellowship Award*. The funds necessary for this include the bequest noted above, a gift received previously from the American Board of Orthodontics and a gift from Dr. Shepard's family so that the total exceeded \$125,000. In addition to the Shepard Fellowship, the Board determined that one more Fellowship Award and eight Biomedical Research Awards<sup>i</sup> might also be named by having one or more persons pledging at the Regent level (\$25,000) or higher, combine their pledges to create an aggregate of a minimum of \$125,000.

Since that time, Drs. Eugene Blair, William DeKock, James Gjerset, T. M. Graber and George Kottemann have combined their pledges and have named the B. F. Dewel Memorial Research Award; Mr. And Mrs. Leo (Linda) Dohn and Drs. Raymond George, Sr., Raymond George, Jr., Hugh Phillis, Perry Opin and Charles Ruff have pooled their pledges and have named the Anthony A. Gianelly Teaching Fellowship Award; Drs. Kolman Apt, Robert Bray, Robert Fry, Ronald Redmond and John Ziegler have combined their pledges to name the Subtelny, Baker, Eastman Teaching Fellowship Award; Drs. Douglas Eversoll, James Kohl, Darrel Moreland, John Pershing and Stephen Roehm have combined their pledges to name the T.M. Graber Teaching Fellowship Award; Drs. Fred Garrett, Anthony Harwell, Larry Mayer, R. Wick Alexander, Larson Keso, Albert Owen, III, Harry Ryburn, William Mardaga, Woodson Tottenham, C. Lynn Davis, John Gerling, James May, Jeff Keeling, Lee Mahlmann and Joel Martinez have combined their pledges to designate the *Albert P. Westfall Memorial Teaching* Fellowship Award, the Robert E. Gaylord Teaching Fellowship Award, and the Fred F. Schudy Memorial Research Award; Drs. Patrick Dreiling (Founder) and Terry Duncan have combined their pledges to designate the Robert M. Ricketts Sunflower Orthodontics Fellowship Award; Drs. Jeffrey Cavanaugh, Oles Drobocky, Courtney Gorman, Jeff Schauder, Stephen Scott, Jeff Thompson, David Wardlaw, and Robert Waxler have combined their pledges to designate the Michael Matlof Memorial Teaching Fellowship Award; Drs. Richard Albright, Dwight Damon, J. Anthony Quinn, John Robert Smith, and Gilbert Snow have combined their pledges to designate the Orhan C. Tuncay Teaching Fellowship Award; Drs. Robert Boyd, Harry Hatasaka, James Mc Namara, George S. Payne, and Richard Savage have combined their pledges to designate the Eugene E. West Memorial Fellowship Award; Drs. Lawrence Harte, George Scott, David Solomon, and Frederic Sterritt (Fellow) have created the Robert E. Binder Teaching Fellowship Award; Drs. Rick Boyd, Thomas H. Dembinski, Randy Ellis, Rick Fuchs, James Hanigan, Lindsay Durham Limbaugh, Don Mayer and American Orthodontics, have combined their pledges to designate the The Fred and Dianne Garrett Biomedical Research Award, in honor of Dr. Fred Garrett for all he has done for the AAOF and for teaching at UT Houston for more than 50 years; the Robert L. Boyd Biomedical Research Award was established via the support of Tom Prescott, Drs. Bob Bray, Clark Colville, Bob Fry, Bill Gierie, Dave Paquette, Mark Perelmuter, Ron Redmond, and Randy Womack, for Dr. Boyd's many contributions to orthodontics and the AAO Foundation; and with the combined efforts of Drs. W. Eugene Roberts, Jr., Chris Chang, Charles Coghlan, Gene Dellinger, Jerry R. Hickman, Michael

Marcotte, Anthony Puntillo, Charles Simons and Rodrigo Viecilli, the Burstone-Indiana Biomechanics Award has been established with the successful applicant of the award each year being designated as a Burstone Fellow in Biomechanics; and through the efforts of Scott Huge and Arlen Hurt of Specialty Appliances, David Allesee of Allesee Orthodontic Appliances (AOA)/Ormco, Great Lakes Orthodontics, and Reliance Orthodontics have established the James A. McNamara Orthodontic Faculty Fellowship Award. Thanks to the efforts of Orhan Tuncay (MASO/PA) and the generosity of some of the many friends and admirers of Bob Bray (MASO/NJ), we are pleased to announce a new AAOF Named Award, i.e., the Robert James Bray Biomedical Research Award. Dr. Bray has served in many capacities, among them are AAO President, AAOF President and currently as AAOF National Planned Giving Chair. Those contributing to the award are Dick Albright (MASO/PA), Align Technology (AAOF Corporate Partner), Ross Crist (MSO/SD), Bob Fry (SWSO/KS), Robert Hazel (Friend of the Specialty), Ali Husain (MASO/DE), Tom Prescott (Friend of the Specialty), Ron Redmond (PCSO/CA), Gib Snow (PCSO/CA) and Orhan Tuncay (MASO/NJ). Our many thanks to Dr. Lee Graber who has established the Graber Family Biomedical Research and Teaching Award intended to provide additional financial support to meritorious faculty encouraging them to stay within academia as both teachers and research contributors.

Additionally, the Foundation has available the Center Award designation which may be established when one or more pledges at the Regent level (\$25,000) or higher are combined to create an aggregate of a minimum of \$250,000. Listed in the order in which these awards were created, the six such awards currently are the GAC International Corporate Center Award, the Ormco/''A'' Company Corporate Center Award, the 3M Unitek Corporate Center Award, the Align Technology, Inc. Corporate Center Award, the American Orthodontics Corporate Center Award, the T.P. Orthodontics Corporate Center Award.

In 2014, the Schulman Study Group (headed by the efforts of Drs. Ron Redmond, SSG CEO, and Robert James Bray, SSG member) made a \$500,000 pledge, restricted to the Research Initiative, with their support to go to name the *Martin "Bud" Schulman Post-doctoral Fellowship Award*, the one PFA available for naming.

Dr. Burstone passed away in February 2015 and had set up a Foundation with provisions authorizing a Trustee to make grants related to the field of Orthodontics. In 2017, we were invited to submit a request for funds and was granted a \$150,000 gift from the Charles J. Burstone Foundation to be used to create the *Charles J. Burstone Research Aid Award*.

In December 2017, Dr. Lee Graber and family established the Graber Family Biomedical Research and Teaching Award asking that it be designated toward Junior Faculty.

The AAO Foundation Board encourages interested individuals to contact Mr. Brett Schott Foundation Vice President, at 800/424-2841, ext. 605, for further information on how Teaching Fellowship, Biomedical Research and Center Awards are named.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>i</sup> At the August 1999 meeting of the AAO Foundation Board of Directors, the directors determined that the number of Teaching Fellowship Named Awards and Biomedical Research Named Awards would be increased from two and six, respectively, to a maximum of twelve each.